Meet Mia Pepin! This Week’s Mom of the Week from Old Greenwich

Meet Mia Pepin! This Week’s Mom of the Week from Old Greenwich

Share this Article

What do you love to do with your children? How old are they? And what is your greatest wish for them? 

I have one son, Frye, who is 5 years old. I love traveling with him. I also try to surprise him with fun activities in New York City and CT. My greatest wishes for him are to grow up and be happy, caring, funny and to be surrounded by people he loves who love him back.

When and where are you the happiest? 

I am the happiest when I’m with my family anchored out in a bay somewhere.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

If I could go anywhere in the world, I would sail to the Maldives.

Who has had the biggest influence upon you? And what quality do you most admire in a mother? 

I guess if I were to think about who influenced me the most it would be my grandmother. She and I had a special bond. She loved it when I made her laugh (I loved to perform skits for her from my drama classes). The trait I most admire in a mother is ‘strength’ – not physical strength but mental strength. 

What do you like to do for fun?

I love to travel for fun and sometimes we like to sail to our destination.

What is one of your favorite books? Movies? 

One of my favorite books is SLIM: Memories of a Rich and Imperfect Life. Slim Keith was a woman of style who was best friends with Ernest Hemingway. She also discovered Lauren Bacall. I love her story. She is fascinating. One of my favorite movies is Overboard. I think I’ve watched it a hundred times over the years and every time it makes me cry laugh. Goldie Hawn is amusing. 

Besides motherhood, what other careers/opportunities have you enjoyed? What are your strongest qualities? 

Besides being a mother, I have had the wonderful opportunity to work in a field that I love! I’ve had the pleasure of working for some of the world’s most famous and glamorous fashion designers – Vera Wang, Reem Acra. I’ve been able to style photo shoots, dress celebrities, design florals and host/plan events. I’m currently working as a visual merchandiser and project director for some other super fabulous brands! I also stage, style homes/apartments and help with personal wardrobes.

What is your favorite type of food and what do you love to cook? 

My favorite type of food is something hearty. I love to make spicy chili. I make sure the three B’s are in it – beef, beans and beer. Then top it off with sour cream, cheddar cheese, onions, cilantro and, drumroll please… FRITOS. It’s amazing! Really amazing!

What is your favorite time of the day and why? 

My favorite time of the day is between 4-6 PM. The sun is absolutely magical at that time of day especially when it’s reflecting on the water and everything sparkles and twinkles.   

Where is your favorite place to Party with Moms and what’s your favorite drink? 

I moved to Old Greenwich a year ago so I still haven’t found “my place,” but if I were going to recommend a spot to Party with Moms I’d have to say Bar Taco in Port Chester. I love that place! It has great food, style and decor! My favorite drink in the winter is Joel Gott Cabernet Sauvignon; in the summer, I like a Pinot Grigio (freezing cold).