Meet Meg Hollingsworth from Denver, our 30th Mom of the Week!

Meet Meg Hollingsworth from Denver, our 30th Mom of the Week!

Share this Article

Meg pic

What do you love to do with your children? How old are they? And what is your greatest wish for them? 

I love spending time with my children Sophie, who is 10 and Ben, who is 7.  I love to spend time as a family and take advantage of where we live in Denver, Colorado and go to the mountains.  Our favorite mountain to ski together is Steamboat Springs.  To my husband’s chagrin, my son has decided he likes snowboarding better than skiing. My husband is an excellent lifelong skier so he is a little upset about the prospect of a boarder but I think it would be cute to have a little edginess in our family.  My greatest wish for my daughter is that she is strong, independent, and doesn’t give in to the pressures of the superficiality of this generation.  For my son I hope he is well rounded and continues to keep his sweet side and not feel he has to be too manly.  I really just want both of them to be happy. 

When and where are you the happiest? 

I’m really happy after a long day of skiing with my family and having a beer on the mountain.  It’s so fun to have an activity that we all love to do together.  

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? 

Spain.  The one place in Europe I’ve never been. 

What quality do you most admire in a mother? And what woman has had the biggest impression on you?

I always admire a mother’s ability to juggle family, friends, work, volunteering and raising children.  Men could never do that.  My mom has had the biggest impression on me.  For a long time she raised me as a single working mother on Capitol Hill.  I admired her ability to raise me and work and as I mentioned – multitask.  No matter how much she had on her plate she always had time for me. 

What is your favorite book? Movie?

I read a ton and love fiction.  The Corrections by Jonathan franzen.  Favorite movie- Life is Beautiful. 

What personal achievement are you most proud of?

Graduation from law school is a big one.  I have other personal work achievements but they are too long and boring.

What do you feel is your strongest talent?

I feel that my strongest talent is being independent while still being a good wife and mother.  I know if anything should happen to my husband, God forbid, I will be okay and so will my children.  I can do everything for myself and always have, from being financially independent, to camping by myself, to changing a tire.  My dad, Grover, was a big influence in helping me achieve independence.

What do you like to do for fun? 

I love being active in the mountains.  I live in the most beautiful part of the country, and people here are very active.  I love mountain biking, hiking and skiing with my family or with friends.

What is your favorite time of the day and why? 

It is definitely not the morning.  I am not a morning person.  Sunset, to me, is the most beautiful time of the day. 

Where is your favorite place to Party with Moms and what do you like to drink?

I love a girls weekend in the mountains.  Every year a group of us go to a ski resort for the weekend without children.  Inevitably because of late night fun we rarely get in more than one day of skiing.  We all bring a great bottle of wine and of course my friend Colleen always has to bring the shotski!  If you don’t know what that is – look it up!