Meet Jessica Pastore Reynolds, Mother of Two, Greenwich Native

Meet Jessica Pastore Reynolds, Mother of Two, Greenwich Native

Share this Article

Photo by Classic Kids Greenwich Head Photographer, Katie Farro.

What do you love to do with your children? How old are they? And what is your greatest wish for them?

My sweet beautiful daughter Piper Jane is 5 and the lovely Augustus is nearly 3. They are our moon and our stars. We spend a lot of time together as a family and are often found working on and restoring our almost 100 year-old house. We are prolific gardeners as well and love being outside with the kids growing fruits and vegetables, composting, weeding and playing in nature. My husband Marc and I agree that our greatest wish is to raise happy, well-adjusted people who appreciate living life. We want them to be aware of their surroundings, to have an appreciation for others and to understand that they can contribute to this universe in great and productive ways, not just be the center of it.

When and where are you the happiest?

I am happiest at home with my family in front of a fire, outside in the garden or sitting in the dark after the power goes out. Everything stops, all is quiet and we just have each other. Piper has told me that when the power goes out it is her most precious time with us.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

With this winter chill in the air I would love to visit somewhere delightful in the Caribbean.

Who has had the biggest influence upon you? And what quality do you most admire in a mother? 

My parents have always been a big and positive influence on me. They have made good decisions through their lives and have always been good role models. I feel like I am a well-grounded person due to my upbringing with them in this community. 

My husband Marc and I started dating in high school (GHS) and this year marks 24 years together and 16 years married. He is the smartest, hardest working and most honorable person I know and it’s my pleasure to get to spend life with him. He never takes the easy way out and works hard only as a means of being able to create a great life for his family. AAA husband! 

I really admire patience in a mother because I believe that it is the hardest trait to maintain. All moms know that our kids are masters of that special brand of nudggery that can drive us to the edge. Staying calm and patient during those times isn’t always easy and I applaud those who work at it. I also admire a mother who is kind and friendly to other moms. Motherhood is hard enough and we don’t always know what someone else may be going through. An understanding smile or a cold sneer can set someone’s whole day off for good or for bad.  We should always try to keep that in mind.  

Being helpful and staying positive will go a long way towards supporting one another and being strong role models for our children. 

What do you like to do for fun? 

I like to make plans to entertain or go out with friends. We are fortunate to have lots of local friends from growing up here in Greenwich as well as new friends made along the way. It’s fun to connect throughout the year.

What is one of your favorite books? Movies? 

The Thorn Birds was the first novel I ever read when I was about 10. I loved it so much and it will always be my favorite. I think that Waiting for Guffman is brilliant and still makes me laugh when I watch it. Recently, The Grand Budipest Hotel was a real treat.

Besides motherhood, what other careers/opportunities have you enjoyed? What are your strongest qualities?

I worked as part of a 3 man team at a consulting firm a while ago. We worked with banks and financial institutions and crafted a ‘go to market’ strategy while integrating the latest and greatest technology available, all deployed in a life size ‘bank of the future’ setting. It was super interesting, cutting edge and fun! I am creative, easy to work with and a good team player which has always lent itself to happy work environments over the years. 

What is your favorite type of food and what do you love to cook?

I am vegetarian and a gardener so I love vegetables. A warm bowl of vegetable and white bean soup will get me every time! Roasted vegetables with crusty bread, soups, fresh berries and nuts on a cheese tray… mmmmm. I cook a lot for family and friends and actually love making slow cooked meat dishes like osso bucco, braised short ribs and pulled pork. I don’t eat it or even taste it but for some reason I can cook the hell out of it!   

What is your favorite time of the day and why? 

I particularly like the few minutes right before I fall asleep at night because I know that is the longest possible amount of time I will get to rest… hopefully!

Where is your favorite place to Party with Moms and what’s your favorite drink?

There are tons of great restaurants and bars here in Greenwich and the surrounding towns and plenty of moms to ‘party’ with. My favorite place to Party with Moms is somewhere like the bar at Polpo, Terra or Tarry Lodge or the lounge at L’Escale. My favorite drink is cold water. That said, I love a white Burgundy or Sauvignon Blanc in the summer and a Cabernet Sauvignon or Barolo in the winter. Sometimes I will just have a little ‘nip’ of Lagavulin on a cold night by the fire. Everything in moderation!