Meet Jennifer Salinas, Founder of New Moms of Greenwich!

Meet Jennifer Salinas, Founder of New Moms of Greenwich!

Share this Article

What do you love to do with your children? How old are they? And what is your greatest wish for them?

I love spending time with my children.  No matter where it is or what we are doing, as long as we are spending quality time together.  My son is two and a half and my daughter is nine months old.

My greatest wish for them is to be internally happy, to have inner conviction and to reach their potential.  I also wish for them to find the beauty in everyone, and appreciate the little things in life.  I wish to instill in them humbleness, compassion, integrity, for them to be guided by their values, and to treasure family and good friends.

When and where are you the happiest?

I’m the happiest when my entire family is spending quality time together, wherever that may be.  It could be cuddling up with a children’s book near the fireplace, walking on the beach, singing songs, or exploring other places on a vacation.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

This is a difficult question because I absolutely love a few places in the world.  I would return to Seville, Rome, or Monaco, but this time with my family.  All three have a very special significance to me and are all truly magical in their own right.

What quality do you most admire in a mother? And what woman has had the biggest impression on you? 

There are so many qualities in a mother to admire, but most admirable to me, is a mother who successfully balances her family, marriage, career, and social life.  The woman who has had the biggest impression on me is my own mother.  She is patient, kind and has selflessly sacrificed for her children, without hesitation.  If I could be half of the mother that she is, I’ll be just fine.

What is your favorite book? Movie?

My favorite book is probably Eat, Pray, Love, since I can identify with the main character; an adventurous, free spirited soul, who explored foreign countries in order to find herself.  As in the book, I genuinely enjoy meeting new people, learning different cultures, and living life passionately and wholeheartedly.

My favorite movie would have to be Under the Tuscan Sun since I love the scenery and architecture of Tuscany, and I’m also a hopeless romantic… and who wouldn’t love to restore an old Tuscan villa? 

What personal achievement are you most proud of?

The personal achievement I’m most proud of is without doubt, my two children.  However, I am also very proud of having the courage to live in Europe for a few years on my own.  It was one of the greatest adventures and best decision of my life, as it has helped shape who I am today.

What do you feel is your strongest talent? 

My strongest talent would be my linguistic skills: speaking three languages, my natural ability for teaching language, and presenting language in an engaging way for students.  I’m pretty musically inclined as well, after ten years of singing with a wedding band.

What do you like to do for fun? 

For fun, I love to travel, go to concerts, dine out or entertain friends at home.  There are so many things I do for fun to express my creativity.  I often dabble in event planning, photography, interior decorating, and real estate, and have a passion for fashion, having been in that industry before I changed careers.

In addition, I started and currently run a group called “New Moms of Greenwich.”  I started it over 2 years ago when my son was born.  I organize child-centered activities, and gatherings to provide an opportunity for social networking, and support for new moms.  We also have Mom’s Night Out which is always a blast when we ‘Party with Moms’ on the town!

What is your favorite time of the day and why?

My favorite time of day is when I arrive home, my son runs into my arms and I get to look into his big brown eyes.  Also, when I get to give hugs and kisses to my daughter, who is always eagerly awaiting me with her beautiful smile.

Where is your favorite place to Party with Moms and what do you like to drink? 

My favorite place to party is any of my neighborhood restaurants in Greenwich; Gabriele’s, Vinoteca, L’Escale… and I love to drink my sweet wine Moscato D’Asti.